Minnesota Permit to Carry Class

Course Length: 6½ to 8 Hours
Cost: $100.00 (Permit Renewal: $50.00*)
Course of Fire: 20 Rounds
Maximum Class Size: 12

This class covers the information you need to receive your permit allowing you to lawfully carry for self defense in Minnesota and several other states. It meets the requirements of the Minnesota Citizens Personal Protection Act.

  • Facts and the Minnesota Personal Protection Act
  • Laws and Self-Defense
  • Basic Pistol Introduction
  • Introduction to Ammunition
  • Selecting a Firearm for Personal Protection
  • Firearm Safety
  • Fundamentals of Shooting and Firearm Retention
  • Live Fire Exercise

The world is full of people who are intent on doing evil. Hardly a day goes by without news of yet another “senseless attack”.

The attack on you or your family won’t make sense. You don’t deserve it, but here it comes. What will you do to survive? Pretending it can’t happen won’t save you when it does. You could call 911 and hope the police arrive in time. They usually do not. Criminals don’t listen to reason. Begging for your life gives them the power they thrive on.

Denial is not a strategy. ‘It hasn’t happened yet’ is not a strategy. We put $20 locks on $200,000 homes to “feel” safe. Feeling safe is not a strategy. That stuff only happens in big cities is not a strategy. None of these will not protect you or your loved ones…only you can do that.

Ordinary citizens in the U.S. defend themselves with a firearm well over a MILLION times every year. Most stories don’t make the news because no shots were fired.

What are the Requirements?

  • Must be at least 20 years of age to take the class and 21 years of age to submit the application
  • Must complete an application form
  • Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714
  • Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system

Minnesota residents must request their permit from the sheriff of the county in which they live. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff. You must provide your firearms training certificate signed by a certified instructor and your driver's license at the time you submit your application. You have one year from the date your certificate is signed to turn in the application. An application for renewal must be submitted within 90 days of your permit expiring. If your application is submitted after your permit expires, it will be considered applying for a new permit.

The payment for the class does not include the application fee to the sheriff's department.

Prices subject to change without notice
* To receive the Permit Renewal price, you must have a valid MN Permit to Carry card.

$50.00 each